How to setup and test

Moderator: flatmax

fnbassman
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:07 am

Re: How to setup and test

Post by fnbassman » Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:05 am

Hello again,
Thanks for your reply on my setup question, I went with a clean build.
The card plays a known file with aplay, speaker-test and firefox also work. Audio quality is amazing!
The problem now is no audio from Rin and Lin (RCA jacks) as if the input pot is full off but it's fully clockwise.
I verified the audio signal level by moving the rca plugs to a known hardware mixer, loud and clear.
Arecord creates a file that is quiet, verified with aplay on the pi and aplay on a known machine.
Is the card defective or am I missing something.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Fred

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:36 pm

Re: How to setup and test

Post by admin » Thu Nov 10, 2016 3:58 pm

Fantastic, nice to hear the output is now working !

Lets move onto your input issues. Can you please post a snapshot of your alsamixer. You can do that by starting alsamixer from the command line, then pressing tab or F4 to show the capture settings. I am wondering whether it is setup to record from line input.

thanks
Matt

reverbanime
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:30 am

Re: How to setup and test

Post by reverbanime » Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:39 am

Hello!

I'm having the same problem. The output is working fine, but I'm having some trouble getting the input working :(
I'm testing everything in puredata (connecting the dac to the adc) so that might be what's causing the problem.
I even pulled up alsamixer to see if there was anything that stuck out there and I couldn't really find anything :/

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Sean
Attachments
2017-01-23-231319_1824x984_scrot.png
2017-01-23-231319_1824x984_scrot.png (97.42 KiB) Viewed 32885 times

namdoog
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:55 am

Re: How to setup and test

Post by namdoog » Tue Jan 31, 2017 10:15 am

I have been wrestling with this a few days now, and have not been able to record a sound clip with arecord. I have been browsing the forum, but haven't found an answer yet, so I hope someone here can point me in the right direction.

I have plugged an audioInjector board with built-in mic onto an RPi3 running a very recent version of jessie (< 2 weeks old, I think). It is not currently connected to the internet, so I first tried setting up manually, then when I had errors, copied the .deb from a thumb drive, installed it, ran the -setup script, and did a cold boot.

I have tried quite a few variations on the arecord command, yielding a variety of errors, and somewhere in the middle, I used your .MIC. audio setup file to (hopefully) make the mic the default input. Still no joy, so before I go much further, I want to be sure the card is set up right.

Here is the output of dmesg | grep "audio", and though it says "mapping ok" at the end, I see a lot of "failed" messages:

[ 10.807142] audioinjector-audio soc:sound: ASoC: CPU DAI (null) not registered
[ 10.807169] audioinjector-audio soc:sound: snd_soc_register_card failed (-517)
[ 10.810776] audioinjector-audio soc:sound: ASoC: CODEC DAI wm8731-hifi not registered
[ 10.810803] audioinjector-audio soc:sound: snd_soc_register_card failed (-517)
[ 10.976768] audioinjector-audio soc:sound: ASoC: CODEC DAI wm8731-hifi not registered
[ 10.976798] audioinjector-audio soc:sound: snd_soc_register_card failed (-517)
[ 10.999092] audioinjector-audio soc:sound: ASoC: CODEC DAI wm8731-hifi not registered
[ 10.999109] audioinjector-audio soc:sound: snd_soc_register_card failed (-517)
[ 11.027719] audioinjector-audio soc:sound: wm8731-hifi <-> 3f203000.i2s mapping ok

Is something wrong with my setup?

namdoog
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:55 am

Re: How to setup and test

Post by namdoog » Thu Feb 02, 2017 12:14 pm

... Also, because I see no bias voltage on the mic, I assume it isn't turned on until the card is properly configured. Is that right?

flatmax
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:39 pm

Re: How to setup and test

Post by flatmax » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:39 am

To get the microphone recording, you need to setup three things in the alsamixer.
1] Set the mic to capture (you will see the "CAPTURE" written above it).
2] start with Mic Boost and capture volumes up.
3] Set Input Mux to Mic.

Here is an example alsamixer setup which will work :
audioInjector.mic.alsamixer.png
alsamixer setup for mic recording
audioInjector.mic.alsamixer.png (40.24 KiB) Viewed 33747 times
Hope that helps,
Matt
Checkout the next kickstarter campaign - the Ultra 2 : https://kck.st/2xwM3DL
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector

flatmax
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:39 pm

Re: How to setup and test

Post by flatmax » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:47 am

To get the line inputs working please do the following :
1] Ensure potentiometer is clockwise.
2] Plug RCA lines into the connectors between the headphone jack and the network socket.
3] Set the alsamixer to have "CAPUTRE" above the Line input, Capture volume up and Input Mux to "Line In".

This command should work :
arecord -f S32_LE -c 2 -r 96000 /tmp/test.wav
audioInjector.line.alsamixer.png
Audio Injector alsamixer setup for line recording
audioInjector.line.alsamixer.png (41.56 KiB) Viewed 33748 times
Hope that helps
Matt
Checkout the next kickstarter campaign - the Ultra 2 : https://kck.st/2xwM3DL
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector

flatmax
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:39 pm

Re: How to setup and test

Post by flatmax » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:48 am

@reverbanime your mixer settings look good, can you do an arecord test ?

thanks
Matt
Checkout the next kickstarter campaign - the Ultra 2 : https://kck.st/2xwM3DL
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector

flatmax
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:39 pm

Re: How to setup and test

Post by flatmax » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:49 am

@namdoog yes, your dmesg shows that the card is setup correctly.
Your Mic bias will not show until you are actually recording and the mixer is setup appropriately.
Checkout the next kickstarter campaign - the Ultra 2 : https://kck.st/2xwM3DL
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector

namdoog
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:55 am

Re: How to setup and test

Post by namdoog » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:17 am

flatmax wrote:@namdoog yes, your dmesg shows that the card is setup correctly.
Your Mic bias will not show until you are actually recording and the mixer is setup appropriately.
Thanks for that info! I will keep trying. Got an error trying to run your test script (sox cmd not found), will keep trying.

I have 2 boards, one with mic and one without. Hoping to hook up an external electret mic up to one. I will be happy when I can arecord a sound clip through the on-board mic.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests