Cannot get RCA microphone to work

Moderator: flatmax

Post Reply
artur.noole
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:22 pm

Cannot get RCA microphone to work

Post by artur.noole » Thu Sep 14, 2017 1:57 am

Hi,

I successfully managed to setup AudioInjector board using built in microphone but when I connect a line-in microphone via RCA jacks and run the command to activate that option, the microphone does not work. I only have one line-in microphone to test with (built into my computer speakers) but I tested the mic under Mac and in there it works fine. Do I have to change settings in alsamixer after activating the line-in option?

barney39
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:12 pm

Re: Cannot get RCA microphone to work

Post by barney39 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:09 pm

Hi,
We have same question issue as artur.noole - we have tried connecting a microphone from an old headset to the line input (simply cut-off jack and soldered on a phono plug with no success. I am guessing that we need some form of powered/amplified microphone to connect. What model /type would you recommend for use with your sound card?
Thanks in advance for any help

flatmax
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:39 pm

Re: Cannot get RCA microphone to work

Post by flatmax » Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:39 pm

Hi there,

These microphones are they electret microphones ? Do they require power+signal over the same line ?
If so then you need to wire them to the microphopne footprint on the board.

Matt
Check out our audiophile quality crossovers : https://bit.ly/2kb1nzZ
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector

kenski1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:55 am

Re: Cannot get RCA microphone to work

Post by kenski1 » Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:24 am

I'm reasonably sure the RCA inputs to this audio board are line level, which means microphones won't work with them directly.

I use a modified Velleman MK136 board with the microphones supplied with it removed, the inputs modified to remove the activating voltage for the supplied electret mics.

Any reasonable microphone amplifier that provides a line level output should work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests