Page 1 of 1

Cannot get RCA microphone to work

Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 1:57 am
by artur.noole
Hi,

I successfully managed to setup AudioInjector board using built in microphone but when I connect a line-in microphone via RCA jacks and run the command to activate that option, the microphone does not work. I only have one line-in microphone to test with (built into my computer speakers) but I tested the mic under Mac and in there it works fine. Do I have to change settings in alsamixer after activating the line-in option?

Re: Cannot get RCA microphone to work

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:09 pm
by barney39
Hi,
We have same question issue as artur.noole - we have tried connecting a microphone from an old headset to the line input (simply cut-off jack and soldered on a phono plug with no success. I am guessing that we need some form of powered/amplified microphone to connect. What model /type would you recommend for use with your sound card?
Thanks in advance for any help

Re: Cannot get RCA microphone to work

Posted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:39 pm
by flatmax
Hi there,

These microphones are they electret microphones ? Do they require power+signal over the same line ?
If so then you need to wire them to the microphopne footprint on the board.

Matt

Re: Cannot get RCA microphone to work

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:24 am
by kenski1
I'm reasonably sure the RCA inputs to this audio board are line level, which means microphones won't work with them directly.

I use a modified Velleman MK136 board with the microphones supplied with it removed, the inputs modified to remove the activating voltage for the supplied electret mics.

Any reasonable microphone amplifier that provides a line level output should work.