Unstable behavior and high CPU ?

Moderator: flatmax

Post Reply
robiwan
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:18 am

Unstable behavior and high CPU ?

Post by robiwan » Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:04 pm

I've setup a pipe with GStreamer:
>gst-launch-1.0 -v alsasrc ! audio/x-raw, rate=48000, channels=2 ! alsasink

which sometimes works, and sometimes doesn't, sometimes I need to reboot to get it working again. Very erratic :(

And when it does work, the CPU usage is almost 14% (!!). I would've expected to more or less have 0% CPU. Any ideas what is going on ?

robiwan
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:18 am

Re: Unstable behavior and high CPU ?

Post by robiwan » Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:43 pm

Oh, I should add that I run it on an RPi3 with Debian Stretch Lite.

ScottJones
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:21 pm

Re: Unstable behavior and high CPU ?

Post by ScottJones » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:30 pm

I think if you add Rpi3 with debian then it will better. Please try it. It is not neccessary to reboot the system every then and now. I think there is aome major defect with your system. Please contact a good system therapist :)

robiwan
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:18 am

Re: Unstable behavior and high CPU ?

Post by robiwan » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:26 am

Sorry, I meant I use Raspbian Stretch. Was that what you meant ?

flatmax
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:39 pm

Re: Unstable behavior and high CPU ?

Post by flatmax » Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:28 pm

I wonder if the cpu usage is to do with the plugin - I assume you have the .asoundrc and are using the default plugin.
What happens if you use vlc with hw:0 and 8 channels ?

thanks
Matt
Check out our audiophile quality crossovers : https://bit.ly/2kb1nzZ
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector

robiwan
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:18 am

Re: Unstable behavior and high CPU ?

Post by robiwan » Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:56 pm

flatmax wrote:
Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:28 pm
I wonder if the cpu usage is to do with the plugin - I assume you have the .asoundrc and are using the default plugin.
What happens if you use vlc with hw:0 and 8 channels ?
I can also try play an 8 channel sine wave with aplay, should be comparable. When I use alsaloop, the CPU usage is grotesque, 100% CPU when piping with a 24 frame buffer (!!!). But I suspect it uses a spin loop...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest