Freelancer HELP needed
Moderator: flatmax
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:54 am
Freelancer HELP needed
Hello,
I have an urgent project for Audio injector raspberry pi Octo sound card
I really tried following up this forum and here: http://forum.audioinjector.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1222
I totally spent many hours trying with no luck due to my lack of understanding
My project is six Mics recording at the same time saving in an external SSD hard drive with directories Mic1, Mic2, Mic3 ...etc
The recording should start when you plug the Raspberry pi 3
Anyone can help please tell me
Thank you
I have an urgent project for Audio injector raspberry pi Octo sound card
I really tried following up this forum and here: http://forum.audioinjector.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1222
I totally spent many hours trying with no luck due to my lack of understanding
My project is six Mics recording at the same time saving in an external SSD hard drive with directories Mic1, Mic2, Mic3 ...etc
The recording should start when you plug the Raspberry pi 3
Anyone can help please tell me
Thank you
Re: Freelancer HELP needed
Hi there,
I see this as breaking into two requirements : will start a terminal and run a script. You could do something similar with just a command like "arecord args &".
To solve the second record and symlink concept, you can do the following : here the captial i "-I" tells arecord to split the files.
You will end up with 8 files and you only want 6 of them. You will have to experiment to see how they are output and which file has which channel, but it should all make sense once you test it out. That command will record 8 channels, 32 bits at a 48 kHz sample rate to the files.
First however, you have to create each of your directories, for example :
mkdir ~/ch0
mkdir ~/ch1
... etc ...
You can use a bash for loop to do this as well
Then your command will look more like :
If you get complaints from arecord "access type not available" then use the plughw device.
Let us know how you go !
Matt
I see this as breaking into two requirements :
- Autostart a process
- Record to filesin directories.
Code: Select all
@lxterminal -e 'myScript.sh'
To solve the second record and symlink concept, you can do the following :
Code: Select all
arecord -I -c 8 -f S32_LE -r 48000 ch0/name0.wav ch1/name1.wav ... etc 8 times ...
You will end up with 8 files and you only want 6 of them. You will have to experiment to see how they are output and which file has which channel, but it should all make sense once you test it out. That command will record 8 channels, 32 bits at a 48 kHz sample rate to the files.
First however, you have to create each of your directories, for example :
mkdir ~/ch0
mkdir ~/ch1
... etc ...
You can use a bash for loop to do this as well
Then your command will look more like :
Code: Select all
arecord -I -c 8 -f S32_LE -r 48000 ~/ch0/name0.wav ~/ch1/name1.wav ... etc 8 times ...
Let us know how you go !
Matt
Check out our audiophile quality crossovers : https://bit.ly/2kb1nzZ
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:54 am
Re: Freelancer HELP needed
I really appreciate the time you took to answer my questions
Is seems I am missing something here, or I did it wrong all the way
This is what I did:
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ @lxterminal -e 'myScript.sh'
bash: @lxterminal: command not found
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ arecord -I -c 8 -f S32_LE -r 48000 ch0/name0.wav ch1/name1.wav
arecord: capturev:3198: You need to specify 8 files
Although I have now five mics in Octo Sound card, but it seems the raspberry can't see them
Then I disconnected all mics except one and copied:
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ arecord -I -c 1 -f S32_LE -r 48000 ch0/name0.wav ch1/name1.wav
arecord: capturev:3198: You need to specify 1 files
Same problem
I deleted the directories ch0 and ch1, so my command was:
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ arecord -I -c 1 -f S32_LE -r 48000 /name0.wav /name1.wav
arecord: capturev:3198: You need to specify 1 files
Also the same
My question, why arecord now seeing the mics?
Thank you
Is seems I am missing something here, or I did it wrong all the way
This is what I did:
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ @lxterminal -e 'myScript.sh'
bash: @lxterminal: command not found
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ arecord -I -c 8 -f S32_LE -r 48000 ch0/name0.wav ch1/name1.wav
arecord: capturev:3198: You need to specify 8 files
Although I have now five mics in Octo Sound card, but it seems the raspberry can't see them
Then I disconnected all mics except one and copied:
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ arecord -I -c 1 -f S32_LE -r 48000 ch0/name0.wav ch1/name1.wav
arecord: capturev:3198: You need to specify 1 files
Same problem
I deleted the directories ch0 and ch1, so my command was:
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ arecord -I -c 1 -f S32_LE -r 48000 /name0.wav /name1.wav
arecord: capturev:3198: You need to specify 1 files
Also the same
My question, why arecord now seeing the mics?
Thank you
Re: Freelancer HELP needed
Assalam Khalid
Your commands to record the audio should be like this as to record from 1 mic connected to channel 1
Your command should be this as to record from 5 mics using on channel 1 - 5
Please remember the count and the file names plz.
Your commands to record the audio should be like this as to record from 1 mic connected to channel 1
Code: Select all
arecord -I -c 1 -f S32_LE -r 48000 ~/ch0/name0.wav
Code: Select all
arecord -I -c 5 -f S32_LE -r 48000 ~/ch0/name0.wav ~/ch1/name1.wav ~/ch2/name2.wav ~/ch3/name3.wav ~/ch4/name4.wav
I am just a GNU/Linux System Admin and Information Security enthusiast
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:54 am
Re: Freelancer HELP needed
I was able to record, as you said, only when I used plughw it worked
Strangely the audio file is silent, no audio, but the files were generated
My question, I am using condenser mics, what is the power spec for the inputs, maybe thats why I didn't record anything
Thaks
Strangely the audio file is silent, no audio, but the files were generated
My question, I am using condenser mics, what is the power spec for the inputs, maybe thats why I didn't record anything
Thaks
Re: Freelancer HELP needed
For less then 8 channels to work, you need to have your .asoundrc setup correctly to use anyChannelCount by default. See the how to setup post.
Normally condenser microphones require preamps and also phantom power, it is likely that your signal isn't big enough to record ... which is why you need those preamps.
Matt
Normally condenser microphones require preamps and also phantom power, it is likely that your signal isn't big enough to record ... which is why you need those preamps.
Matt
Check out our audiophile quality crossovers : https://bit.ly/2kb1nzZ
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector
Please review the Zero sound card on Amazon USA : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075V1VNDD
---
Check out our new forum on github : https://github.com/Audio-Injector
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:54 am
Re: Freelancer HELP needed
Thank you, and yes it worked for line in, very clear audio
Condenser microphones, I need an external power and preamp box to test
I used audio technica Condenser Shotgun Microphone with preamp and audio is very weak, I seems to need the write specs for the external preamp
Thank you
Condenser microphones, I need an external power and preamp box to test
I used audio technica Condenser Shotgun Microphone with preamp and audio is very weak, I seems to need the write specs for the external preamp
Thank you
Re: Freelancer HELP needed
Rspiaudio2017 wrote: ↑Tue Jul 11, 2017 3:24 amThank you, and yes it worked for line in, very clear audio
Condenser microphones, I need an external power and preamp box to test
I used audio technica Condenser Shotgun Microphone with preamp and audio is very weak, I seems to need the write specs for the external preamp
Thank you
Dear all,
Hope anyone could share step by step guidelines on how to make it work for the mic recording and share the .asoundrc file as well?
Thanks you very much!
Wira
Re: Freelancer HELP needed
Dear all,
Need your kind advice on how to get my 6 channel RCA inputs working for mic recording.
Hope to get step by step guidelines for it.
So far I did manage to get my 8 channel RCA outputs working for mono and stereo.
Below is the photo of my hardware setup. The asound.conf and asoundrc files are shown below as well.
Appreciate very much for your kind help.
1. Hardware setup
2.asound.conf
3..asoundrc
Best Regards
Wira
Need your kind advice on how to get my 6 channel RCA inputs working for mic recording.
Hope to get step by step guidelines for it.
So far I did manage to get my 8 channel RCA outputs working for mono and stereo.
Below is the photo of my hardware setup. The asound.conf and asoundrc files are shown below as well.
Appreciate very much for your kind help.
1. Hardware setup
2.asound.conf
3..asoundrc
Best Regards
Wira
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests